Systeme, Blasen, Fragmente
Gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen für Kulturmanagement und Kulturpolitik

Gastherausgeber: tbd

Einreichungsfrist: 1 Juni 2022

Die (Kultur)soziologie beschäftigt sich seit jeher mit Gesellschaftsanalysen und der Rezeption von Kunst und Kultur. Pierre Bourdieu, Paul Gilroy, Antoine Hennion, Eva Illouz, Niklas Luhmann, Richard A. Peterson, Andreas Reckwitz oder Gerhard Schulze u.v.a. geben Beispiele dafür, wie sich entlang der Rezeption und Produktion von Kunst und Kultur Gesellschaften de- und rekonstruieren lassen. In jüngster Zeit ist zu beobachten, dass sich nicht nur die kultursoziologischen Beschreibungsmodi, sondern die Gesellschaften selbst fragmentieren. Die sozialen Medien haben diesen Transformationsprozess erheblich beschleunigt. Die gesellschaftlichen “Blasen” schließen sich voneinander ab und bilden parallele, unverbundene Strukturen aus, und sind gleichzeitig Zeichen für die Vielstimmigkeit von Gesellschaften.

Diese Fragmentierung stellt Kulturinstitutionen und Kulturpolitik in jedem Fall vor neue Herausforderungen. Welchen Stellenwert können Kulturinstitutionen in einer singularisierten Gesellschaft einnehmen? Gelten noch die tradierten, bildungsbürgerlichen, durch Schiller, Humboldt und Dewey geprägten Ideen und Werte oder ist der Kulturbetrieb eher eine nur mehr sich selbst feiernde, mit sich selbst beschäftigte, den Bestand bewahrende „Folklore-Veranstaltung“ der Hochkultur? Wie könnten oder sollten sich die Kulturinstitutionen verändern, um Musealisierung zu entgehen und gesellschaftliche Relevanz und Resonanz zu erzeugen, auch und gerade im Kontext gravierender soziodemographischer Entwicklungen und Verschiebungen? Und welche Rolle kann in diesem Transformationsprozess die Kulturpolitik spielen?

Willkommen sind Beiträge aus historischer, kultursoziologischer, organisationstheoretischer, politikwissenschaftlicher etc. und interdisziplinärer Perspektive.

Einreichungsfrist: 1 Juni 2022

Hinweise zur Einreichung

Einzureichen bei: submissions(at)jcmcp(dot)org

Current Calls for Papers

  • Nicht-Besucherforschung und Neues Publikum

    Gastredakteure: tbd

    Submission Deadline: 1 September 2022

    Publikums- und Besucherforschung sind mittlerweile etablierte Forschungsfelder. Nicht-Besucherforschung hingegen gibt es kaum, was insofern verwunderlich ist, da die Mehrzahl der Gesellschaft zur Gruppe der Nicht-Besucher zu rechnen ist. Ausgehend von dieser Forschungslücke möchte das Sonderheft Charakteristika ...

  • Immaterielles Kulturerbe und nachhaltige Entwicklung mit besonderem Fokus auf die darstellenden Künste

    Gastredakteure: Prof. Dr. Tiago de Oliveira Pinto, UNESCO Chair on Transcultural Music Studies, University of Music FRANZ LISZT Weimar/Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena, Germany

    Submission Deadline: 1 März 2023

    Die Diskussion um und die Sicherung des immateriellen Kulturerbes und seine vielfältigen Implikationen insbesondere in Bezug auf Umwelt und nachhaltige Entwicklung stehen im Fokus dieses Heftes. Dabei sollen im Anschluss an Ergebnisse aus den Sozial- und ...

Systems, Bubbles, Fragments
How Society Challenges Arts Management and Cultural Policy

Guest Editors: tbd

Submission Deadline: 1 June 2022

Societies and the reception of arts and culture have been studied by (cultural) sociology for many years. Pierre Bourdieu, Paul Gilroy, Antoine Hennion, Eva Illouz, Niklas Luhmann, Richard A. Peterson, Andreas Reckwitz or Gerhard Schulze and many more give examples for how societies can be de- and reconstructed in terms of artistic reception and production. Recently, both the analytical tools and modes to describe societies, and societies themselves, have become more and more fragmented, with social media accelerating this transformation. Emerging, isolated social “bubbles” are forming unconnected and parallel structures, and manifest – at the same time – social multivocality and diversity.

This fragmentation poses new challenges for arts and culture organizations and cultural policy. What role can arts organizations play in singularized societies? Do traditional civic ideals promoted by Schiller, Humboldt, and Dewey still hold true today, or have cultural organizations merely become a self-loving, self-absorbed folklore movement seeking to preserve high cultural inventory? How could, and should, arts and culture organizations change in order to avoid musealization and to create social resonance and relevance, especially in light of socio-demographic shifts? What role can cultural policy play in this transformation process?

This issue welcomes contributions from historical, cultural sociological, organizational theoretical, political scientific and interdisciplinary perspectives.

 

Submission Deadline: 1 June 2022

Please see the Submission Guidelines

Submit to submissions(at)jcmcp(dot)org

Current Calls for Papers

  • Arts Practices and Cultural Policies in Conditions of Disaster

    Guest Editors: Keith Nurse (Principal / President at Sir Arthur Lewis Community College)

    Submission Deadline: 1 September 2021

    This issue focuses on responses to, and long-term changes in the arts and cultural policy fields related to the current climate, health, and economic crises. Contributed articles examine organizational and economic models that allow for continued ...

  • Non-Visitor Studies and New Audiences

    Guest Editors: tbd

    Submission Deadline: 1 September 2022

    Audience and visitor studies are well established fields. Numerous journals and books address the audiences of museums, concerts, theaters, or film festivals. Research on non-visitors, however, hardly exists, although a large part of the population belongs ...

  • Intangible Cultural Heritage and Sustainable Development with a Special Focus on the Performing Arts

    Guest Editors: Prof. Dr. Tiago de Oliveira Pinto, UNESCO Chair on Transcultural Music Studies, University of Music FRANZ LISZT Weimar/Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena, Germany

    Submission Deadline: 1 March 2023

    This issue focuses on the safeguarding of intangible cultural heritage and its manifold implications, especially in relation to environmental and sustainable development. We welcome research articles, case studies, and essays from sociology, cultural studies, and performance ...